This is a piece from the poem "A message from strange lands" by Ghada Al Samman in her "Letters of Nostalgia to Jasmine"  (رسائل  الحنين  إلى  الياسمين ) links:1, 2, 3 and my translation. As always, Ghada is too feminine for me but her imagery is simply brilliant.

 

لأنك تشبه الضباب، تخترقني،

وأمتلئ بك من حيث لا أدري..

لأنك تشبه الصاعقة،

أجهل متى تنشب فيَّ نارك أو ضوءك..

لأنك تشبه الأفق،

يستحيل احتضانك أو امتلاكك أو تسويرك..

لأنك تشبه الريح تخافك أجراسي..

لأنك تشبه الماء الجامح تهابك سدودي..

لأنك تشبه حمى الجنون تطلق هذياني..

ولأني أشبهك أخشاك، أحبك وأكرهك في آن،

وأحدّق في زلزال أمزجتك كمن يُحدّق في مرآة،

وأهمس لك داخل لحظة واحدة: أهلاً.. ووداعاً،

يا من يُسقيني عطشي، فـأرتوي

 

Because you are like fog you penetrate me

and I am filled with from I don’t know where ..

Because you are like the storm

I don’t know when your fire or light will get to me ..

Because you are like the horizon

it is impossible to hug, own, or fence you ..

Because you are like the wind my bells fear you ..

Because you are like the untamed water my dams dread you ..

Because you are like the fevers of madness you unleash my hallucinations ..

And because I am like you I fear you, I love and hate you at once,

I stare at the earthquakes of your whims like she who stares in a mirror

I whisper to you, hello and goodbye, at once,

You, who lets me drink my own thirst till I am fulfilled.